MAD AS HELL AND UNLIKELY TO TAKE MUCH MORE

I like to think that politically, I’m a centrist. That is to say, some from the left, and some from the right; a lil’ bit of leftism here (workplace rights, cost of living wages, taxes to fund education, healthcare, even spread of wealth etc) and a lil’ bit of the right there (individual rights and liberties, democratic elections, remuneration based on performance).

As a one time political junkie – avid watcher of the 7.30 Report, Lateline, and countless other news and current affairs programs – the political arena leaves me with a sour taste in my mouth. ‘The Daily Show‘ and ‘The Colbert Report‘ were also essential viewing at one time for me, but both leave me ridiculously depressed in no time at all (If you watched the Daily Show in the aftermath of the Sandy Hook massacre and their coverage of the Congress’s kneeling down and gobbling the metaphorical cock of the NRA, you’ll know what I mean).

These days I point blank refuse to engage in politics or political discussions with friends and families any more. There was a time where ideas and philosophies were debated and discussed. Politics now – ON BOTH SIDES OF THE HALL – is merely about soundbites, identifying ‘who’s to blame’ promising you ‘better days’ currying favour with the over 55 age bracket, and an overarching, ‘if you’re not with me, you’re my enemy’ narrative and characterisation.

But then I read this article and realised that I’m not alone. There are still some out there who feel like I do.

 

Leave a Reply

